Sunday's SOAP

It’s been a while since I’ve done any SOAP posts. SOAP is a technique of reading/studying/blogging the Bible that I first learned about from Amy at Mom’s Toolbox. SOAP stands for Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer. This week, I’m in Galatians.

Scripture: If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant.  Galatians 1:10

Observation: Paul was not concerned about pleasing people. He preached the message that God told him to preach and went where God told him to go. He was only concerned with be Christ’s servant. In this verse, he makes it plain that it is impossible to be a “people-pleaser” and Christ’s servant.

Application: How many times do I worry about what people will think? How many times is pleasing people my motivation? I need to be Christ’s servant and stop worrying about what other people will think. Christ’s goal need to be my goals.

Prayer: Dear God, I want to be your servant, not a servant of the world. Show me how and where you want me to be working for you and help me to eliminate my desire to please the world.

SOAP

Leave a Reply

