Stick With it Saturday

This week I have decided to team up with Sam at Sam’s Noggin and participate in Stick with it Saturday.

First, a brief summary of my weight loss journey so far. I tried half-heartedly before Christmas to lose weight, and managed to lose about 10 pounds. After Christmas, I decided it was time to get serious about my health and about losing weight.  I knew I didn’t want to follow a plan that was super-structured and had a list a mile long of what not to eat. I wanted to eat what my family was eating. I also knew that I needed to exercise. I bought Jillian Michaels 30 Day shred and started with level 1. I started eating carefully, recording everything I ate on my fitness pal.  And the weight started to come off. I lost 30 more pounds by the end of March. That was half-way to my 80 pound goal.  Then I stopped losing. I ate right. I exercised. But, the weight didn’t come off. I added other Jillian Michaels DVDs to my workouts, alternating between different workouts. Nothing.

In mid-May, I bought ChaLEAN Extreme from beachbody.com. It comes with a money-back guarantee, so I figured why not? I weighed myself and took my measurements, like the guidebook that came with the DVDs wanted me to. Then, I started doing the workouts as scheduled. There are 2 days a week that are “rest” days. On those days, I usually do one of my Jillian workouts. I am keeping my calories between 1300-1400 calories a day, and making them quality calories. Besides keeping the calories where they need to be, I am also keeping fat and carbs lower.

So, what about this past week?

It was week 2 of ChaLEAN Extreme. My workouts for the week were:
Saturday–Burn circuit 1
Sunday–rest day; Jillian’s 30 day shred, level 1
Monday–Burn circuit 2
Tuesday–Burn Intervals and Ab Burner
Wednesday–Burn circuit 3
Thursday–Burn it off & Recharge
Friday–rest day
Saturday–Burn circuit 1 (starting week 3)

As of this morning, I’ve lost 4 pounds. I have noticed when doing other workouts that they are getting easier. And, today I was actually able to do 9 push-ups. Real push-ups. Not “girly” ones. That may not sound like much, but trust me, it’s a big deal.

One thought on “Stick With it Saturday

Leave a Reply

