Blogging Through the Gospels, Matthew 14

It’s not about me

Scripture: Matthew 14:14–He had compassion on them and healed their sick.

Observation: Jesus’ disciples had just told him that John the Baptist, Jesus cousin, had been beheaded. Jesus wanted some “quiet time” alone, perhaps to grieve, the passage doesn’t say. He went in a boat, across the lake in an attempt to get away for awhile. However, the crowds of thousands of people followed Him. They wanted to be with Him, to hear his teaching and be healed. Jesus didn’t send them away or complain about them. He had compassion on them and healed their sick.

Application: I need to be less caught up in myself and my wants and more focused on those around me.’

Prayer: Father, help me to show compassion on those that you bring into my life. I know there are many times where I don’t feel like being loving or compassionate. Help me to remember at those times that it’s not about me. It’s about You and what You want for me to be and do. Help me to be obedient to You in all that I do. Thank you.

 

Blogging through the Gospels is hosted by Amy at Mom’s Toolbox Come on over and join us.

 

One thought on “Blogging Through the Gospels, Matthew 14

  1. O’MY Goodness!!!! That is alot of snow for April!!!! I am from Florida and today it was in the 90’s it was soooo hot Even with SPF 30 I am still getting burnt 😦
    hmmmm… I bet we would both like to trade places even for just a day so I could cool down and you could warm up lol 😉

    Keri
    Luvin my Florida Homeschooling lifestyle ~> Year Rounding,(Educational)Computer & TV watching,Math games, Spelling games Type of Relaxed homeschoolers 😉

Leave a Reply

