Blogging Through the Gospels, Matthew 4

SOAP

Scripture:  There were 2 of them, both of them almost identical: vs 20: And they left their nets at once and followed Him.  vs 22: They immediately followed Him, leaving the boat and their father behind.

Observation:  Jesus called 2 sets of brothers. All of them were doing what they always did, their jobs as fishermen. They had no idea that this day was going to be any different. Did they know who Jesus was? Had they heard about Him? The passage doesn’t say. Regardless of how much they knew about Jesus, when He called them, they followed. They didn’t think about it. They didn’t question Him. They didn’t first go home to pack or finish the jobs they were doing.  They immediately followed, leaving their jobs and family behind.

Application: There is some similarity here to the verse I blogged about in Matthew 1. Like Joseph, these 4 men followed immediately. How many times do I not follow God’s call because I question? How many times do I put it off until it’s more convenient? Like these men, I need to follow God’s call immediately. What is He calling me to do in my lifetime? What about this year? Today?

Prayer: Only You, God, know what your call for me today will bring. Help me to be listening for your call and to respond immediately and with a cheerful heart to your call.

Leave a Reply

