Once-a-Month Cooking, step 1

It’s time to start working on my next Once-a-Month cooking day. This time, instead of just sharing the finished results, I’m going to blog about the whole process, from start to finish.

Today was planning day. Last month I started using a new planning software/cookbook series called “30 Meals in One Day”. It is a series of 3 cookbooks. One is dinner recipes, one is lunch recipes and one is all side dishes. Each of the side dishes is coordinated with one of the dinners, so a whole meal can be planned easily. Not all of the side dish recipes are freezer recipes, but some are. Not all of them would appeal to my family, but there are enough that do and some of the other recipes spark my creative juices into coming up with an appropriate side dish.

The software has all the recipes on it. But, it’s much more than just recipes. I can plan all the recipes used for a cooking day, print a list of meals, all the recipes and a complete shopping list. I can enter my own tried and true recipes to the program. I can also print freezer labels for each dish, complete with cooking instructions.

So, today, I chose 21 main dish, 5 soup, 2 sandwich and 4 side dish recipes, printed them out and printed a shopping list. Tomorrow, I’m cleaning out the freezers and refrigerator. Then, Thurday will be shopping day, after I go over the master grocery list and figure out what I already have on hand.

Some of the meals I’m making this time are:
  Barbecue Beef and Biscuits
  Batter Fried Shrimp
  Beef and Cheddar Quesadillas
  Smothered Steak
  Beef Minestrone
  Mexican Beef Stew
  Cheddar Green Beans
  Cheese and Meatball Soup
  Spaghetti
  Maple Almond Beef
  …and more!

Stay tuned for updates on the process.

2 thoughts on “Once-a-Month Cooking, step 1

  1. Pingback: Egg side dishes | homecenterjob

Leave a Reply

