Bible in a Year

This week I was reading in the Psalms. Since I’m using a chronological Bible, the Psalms are in the order they were written. David’s early Psalms, those I read this week, are mainly about rescue from enemies and seeking refuge and finding shelter in God. That makes sense. This is the time in David’s life where he is running from Saul. He had to depend on God in order to survive the constant attacks against him during this time.  In Psalm 91, David writes "He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord "He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust"…He will cover you with his feathers and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart"  Even in some of his darkest times, David sought the Lord and trusted Him to provide shelter and comfort.

The trials that I face are nothing compared to those of David. However, how often do I neglect to look to God for strength and comfort? How easy is it for me to look to myself to solve the problems that come up? These Psalms have been a great reminder for me of where my help, my strength, my hope come from. 

One thought on “Bible in a Year

  1. I am a bit behind, I will probably do the chronological one next year.
    There have been a lot of scary disscussions of late, I am not normally an optimist, but when it comes to the Lord anything is possible!

Leave a Reply

