Show and Tell Friday

This week Wednesday the kids and I helped out at our local Senior Center. They were having a volunteer appreciation carnival and asked our homeschool group if we could help out with the games. The kids spent a couple of fun hours running carnival-style games (bean bag toss, fishing pond, etc), handing out prizes to the winners and running the kitchen. Here’s some photos of our afternoon.

My oldest and his friend ran the fishing pond.

Trying to look cool in fish hats

Middle child helped in the kitchen, making corn dogs, nachos and handing out ice cream.

The cheerful kitchen staff

My daughter handing out prizes at the bean bag toss

Half way through the afternoon, my daughter switched games with her friend and did the ring toss instead of bean bag toss.

Come see what others are sharing by visiting Canadagirl

7 thoughts on “Show and Tell Friday

  1. I'm always happy to see people volunteering at the nursing homes! It warms my heart to see the residents so happy too.

    Carol

  2. What a great idea to help out! It looks like fun.

    I am from WI also.

    Enjoy the weekend! The weather was beautiful today. I hope the forecast is wrong for the rest of it. — Amy

  3. What a valuable lesson to teach your kids. We visit my grandparents in their nursing home often and I know it perks up the residents to just see my kids.
    Jenn

  4. Oh, I stopped by to see how the ol' Bible Challenge is coming along, and I LOVED your S&T! What a very nice idea about the senior center. It looks like you guys are having as much fun as the seniors. What a blessing you are to them!
    God bless your gift of time and energy to minister to them.

Leave a Reply

