Bible in a Year

OK, I’m way behind in posting this. I’ve stayed caught up with my reading, but with Easter last weekend, just didn’t have time to get on to post anything.

I’ve finished 1 Samuel, moved into 2 Samuel and read several more Psalms. I am always amazed when I read about David’s kindness to Saul’s descendants. After all the grief that Saul put David through, he still show’s kindness to his family when he honors Mephibosheth. Even his reaction to the messenger who tells David about Saul’s death is amazing. I think there would be a part of me that would be saying things like "finally" and "good riddance". Not David. He still honors Saul as God’s annointed.

My reading this week had one of the people I feel most sorry for in the Bible.  It happens when the Israelites decided to move the Ark of the Covenant and bring it home. They, unfortunately, do not follow the laws that God laid out for moving the Ark, and when one of the oxen pulling the Ark stumbles, poor Uzzah reaches out a hand to stead the Ark. He immediately falls down dead for touching the Ark. This is one of those times where I’m thinking "OK, it’s a natural human reaction to put your hand out to steady something that’s tipping. Shouldn’t a bit of grace be shown here?" But, God had rules that needed to be followed and David didn’t follow them when moving the Ark this time. Consequences were paid.

And finally, a bit from Psalm 18:19 "He brought me forth also into a broad place; He rescued me, because He delighted in me."  I love that verse. God delights in me. How cool is that?

One thought on “Bible in a Year

  1. I'm behind, too, but on the April 17 post. I've kept up, but I'm having a hard, hard time posting on Saturday. Since it's just the four of us, I think I"ll just bounce around and give personal encouragement rather than keep trying to post that meme and Mr. Linky.

    I'm in 2 Samuel, and boy does that book move fast! A nice change from Leviticus. 🙂

    How are you doing?

    I'm going to post the same thing in everybody's this week, because I'm behind!

Leave a Reply

