Bible in a Year

This week’s reading was all about the different feasts, celebrations and holidays the Israelites were to have. Passover, Feast of Unleaven Bread, Feast of Weeks, and more. I also read about some of the laws for the priests, and the rules for when they conquered land in the Promised land. I’ve always thought it a bit harsh for the Israelites to have to totally destroy all the people in the land. However, after all this reading about how easily the Israelites strayed away from God, I can kind of see His point.

I’ve never really paid much attention to all the feasts. However, I had just picked a book of my homeschool shelf to look at for doing next year with the kids–Biblical Feasts and Holidays. It covers exactly what I read about, the main feasts of the Jewish people. God’s timing, certainly, since I couldn’t have planned it any better if I tried.

As I’m reading all these laws in these first few books, I know that I would not keep on with it if it wasn’t for this meme. Accountability is a great thing!! Although, I have to admit that I can’t wait to get on with the book of Joshua soon.

Check out what others are reading this week at Suzy’s Scribbles

2 thoughts on “Bible in a Year

  1. Yes, Joshua! I've still got Numbers and Deut. to finish. This meme and your keeping me accountable will press me on to finish those books. Then I hope it will get easier (i.e. more interesting).
    Sometimes all we need to "do hard things" is a little group accountability. šŸ™‚

  2. What a blessing to find a book on the feast ect right when you are reading about it. There is so much to keep track of! It is all very interesting. I am so glad we are no longer held to each and every feast. I do have jewish christian friends who keep some of the traditions and have worked for orthadox jews who keep all the traditions.
    You are so right about the accountability! We can do this!

Leave a Reply

