Bible in a Year

One of the passages I read this week has always been one of my favorite, but maybe not for the "normal" reasons. I read about Balaam’s talking donkey. This passage always makes me laugh. Why? Because when the donkey talks to Balaam, Balaam doesn’t act surprised (at least, not that’s mentioned in the Bible), rather, he talks back. If a donkey talked to me, I’m not sure I’d be talking back to it!

I also read about what happened so that Moses was not allowed to enter into the promised land. I’ve always felt bad for Moses. Looking at it from my limited human perspective, it doesn’t seem fair. I mean, he spent 40 years wandering in the desert with the Israelites, putting up with their whining and complaining. Then, when told by God to talk to a rock, he hits it instead. The human mother in me is going "I can understand and sympathize with Moses. After 40 minutes of whining from my 3 children, I am getting frustrated. I can’t imaging 40 years of millions of people whining. He only did what came natural to him." And there’s the issue. He did what he wanted, not what God wanted. When God told Moses to do something, God expected Moses to do it. After 40 years, Moses should know that God is faithful, merciful, loving and will provide. He still did things his way. And, he paid the price for it.

To join others in reading the Bible in a year, go to Suzy’s Scribbles.

3 thoughts on “Bible in a Year

  1. What great insights, Mary! I loved reading what you wrote. I felt the same way about "poor" Moses, but I suppose the verse in James could be applied, "Let not many of you become teachers (leaders?) for as such you shall incur a stricter judgment." And Moses did.

    As far as the talking donkey, here's another one for you. Eve didn't bat an eye when the serpent started talking to her. I think that if some strange creature had come up and starting telling me to eat the fruit, I would have run the other way. So it seems to me that perhaps "talking" animals were not so very unusual in the beginning. Which makes me wonder . . . everything and everyone fell with Adam….the Bible says the entire creation "groans" waiting for our redemption in christ. Do you suppose that maybe these animal creatures God created fell from maybe a station of being able to communicate with humans, and may be restored in the New Earth?
    Food for thought. Makes the ol' imagination run a little wild, doesn't it? šŸ™‚

  2. I do love the story of the donkey! As a kid ( and even now I guess) I chatted with the critters on the farm as if they completely understood me and I suppose if they had talked back I too would have just kept on talking!

Leave a Reply

