Bible in a Year

This week I was reading about the tabernacle–the laws for building it, setting it up, taking it down; the laws for the priests–what they are to wear, to do, how to consecrate themselves, etc. These passages have always been difficult for me. After all, one chapter gives the laws, then the next goes into how the Israelites follow the laws. It’s always seemed a bit repetitious. But, God wouldn’t have had Moses write it all down if it wasn’t important, right?

 However, I was able to put some of my reading this week to use. My daughter had to find 5 pictures of Israel for an Awana project. One of the pictures had 2 priests blowing shofars, just like they used to do in Bible times. This photo brought on several questions about the Jewish people and why they would blow shofars. I was able to provide some information for her, going way back to Moses’ time and all the laws that were begun at Mt Sinai and the years following. The rich, historical traditions of the Jews have their beginning in what I am reading right now. I thought that was pretty cool.

The other thing that stood out to me this week was how some of the laws were so necessary. There were over 2 million people. What if, when the trumpets sounded, everybody just got up and left. Can you imagine the chaos? God certainly could, because He gave them a plan to follow for leaving; a certain order that the tribes were to leave in, with a trumpet blast signaling the departure of each group.

My reading ended this morning with, what else, the people grumbling because they had no meat. After chapters of them doing exactly as the LORD commanded, bringing and doing all that was asked of them, they go back to their "old" selves and grumble. How easy it is to go back to the old self, isn’t it?

To join us in reading the Bible in a year, go to Suzy’s Scribbles

2 thoughts on “Bible in a Year

  1. Yes, we are certainly pondering the same questions this week, aren't we? Almost identical! 🙂

    I'm glad you were able to make the AWANA project come alive for your DD. I LOVE AWANA (though I'm not enamored with the new T&T books, nor am I especially excited about the way they changed the Sparks "Skipper" book this year. Tons of reading for the parents…it's hard to find where you sign the kids off. 🙂
    I guess I"m one of those old fogies that LOVED the Pals, Pioneers, Chums, and Guards. I think they've watered it down to reflect our increasingly "busy" society. I don't think the emphasis is on the Gospel verses any longer. A real shame.

Leave a Reply

