Bible in a Year

My Bible reading this week took me through Genesis 24. I’m using a chronological Bible, The Daily Bible in Chronological Order.  As far as I can tell, the devotional insights and comments are the same as those in the Narrated Bible, which somebody commented on last week. The only difference, that I’ve noticed, in the 2 is that the one I’m using has the dates included on each page of when to read what passage. However, it isn’t truely chronological, since there was no reading from the book of Job. There was a note that Job will be covered at the time it was written, not when it took place.

Anyway, a couple of things stood out to me this week. One was when God told Abraham about the coming destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah. Abraham was bold in his requests to God not to destroy the city for 50, 45, 40…10 righteous people.  We, too, can go boldly to God with our requests. He may not answer us the way we want him to, but I believe that He wants us to ask Him.

I find it reassuring to read of Abraham’s "mistakes". He was a great man, one of those featured in Hebrews 11 "Hall of Faith". However, he was not perfect. He lied about Sarah’s relationship to himself, not once, but twice. And God, in His infinite mercy, forgives him. These great men of the Bible were just that, men. Ordinary people called on to do extraordinary things with God.

These passages that I’ve read this week are ones that I’ve been reading since I was a little girl. I always love finding new things in these passages. God’s Word is always alive and relevant and good.

You can join with Suzy Scribbles and read the Bible in a year, too!

 

2 thoughts on “Bible in a Year

  1. I also find great comfort knowing about all the mistakes these "Hall of Fame" members made. And David. Let's not forget David. He was a "man after God's own heart" and yet…wow. Adultery; murder;
    Sometimes I think we expect too much from our kids! However, I realize that in these last days, we have God's own Spirit within us, which the Patriarchs did not.

  2. I am so thankful that God allows us second chances! And I love that we can plead with God to wait as Abraham did. This portion of scripture always gives me hope for the folks we work with on the street who are so caught up in drug and alchol abuse.

Leave a Reply

