Soup Mix

There’s a snowstorm predicted for our area. That, in my opinion, is the perfect excuse to make soup. I love soup on a cold, snowy day. This soup mix is one I usually have on hand. It can be used in so many ways. I found it in an old depression-era cookbook, but I’ve also seen similar recipes elsewhere.

Soup Mix

14 oz split peas
12 oz pearl barley
14 oz alphabet macaroni, or other small macaroni
12 oz lentils
1 1/2 cups brown rice, or any other rice except instant

Combine and store in an airtight container.

To make soup from this mix (this is the original recipe from the cookbook)

Combine: 6 cups water or broth
                  1 1/2 cups soup mix
                   salt and pepper to taste
Simmer 1 1/2 hours

Then, add: 1 onion, chopped
                   2 carrots, sliced
                   2 stalks celery, chopped
                   1 1/2 cups cabbage, shredded
                   30 oz tomato juice
                   24 oz canned tomatoes
                   1 lb meat, cooked, if desired

Simmer 1/2 hour

When I make this soup, it’s never the same twice. Last time I made it, I used a ham base, skipped the tomatoes and cabbage, added cubed ham. It made a good bean and ham soup. Other times, I won’t add cabbage, or I’ll add mixed vegetables. It’s great many different ways.

Leave a Reply

